Mater dolorosa

Length of the programme

35' + 45'

Team : 15 musicians

  • Les Muffatti
  • Two solists

artistic direction

Les Muffatti

Leonardo LEO (1694-1744), Sinfonia de l’oratorio Sant'Elena al calvario
Emanuele BARBELLA (1718-1777), Concerto a quattro fugato sul stile di chiesa in D minor
Francesco DURANTE (1684-1755), Concerto no 8 in G Major "La Pazzia"
Alessandro SCARLATTI (1660-1725), Ouverture Oratorio Cain overo il primo omicidio
Giovanni Battista PERGOLESI (1710-1736), Stabat mater in F minor

Naples, busy achieving political independence, embarked on a considerable artistic flight in the XVIIth  century, acquiring pre-eminence in the field of musical creativity in Italy, and overschadowing other cities such as Rome and Venice.

The demand for music from all the Neapolitan institutions, churches and theaters, together with the quality expected, encouraged the founding of genuine musical conservatori. This program spans several generations of composers, all of whom were either a teacher or student at one or other of the Neapolitan conservatoria.

Leonardo Leo was one of the most important Neapolitan composers of oratorios and operas. An organist at the court, he spent a good part of his career there. The oratorio Santa Elena al Calvario (1734, text by Metastasio) represents the summit of his career.

Among the composers featured in this program, Emanuele Barbella is the least known today. A prominent student of Leonardo Leo, he was celebrated from London to Paris at the time, where dozens of his works were published. His musical language is formed from Neapolitan elements: striking thematic and dynamic contrasts, surprising harmonies, and multiple chromatic shifts.

Francesco Durante was perhaps the most renowned Neapolitan composer of the period. An extensive body of religious works, vocal duets, keyboard music and several concertos in a mixed style, many of which include virtuoso and lyrical passages, have survived.

Alessandro Scarlatti worked in Naples for many years. The three-movement overture is typical of his writing, and it was undoubtedly his influence that standardised the “Italian overture” form for the next generation.

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi composed his Stabat Mater, one of the greatest masterpieces of the baroque period, in 1735. It is one of the most poignant settings of this 13th century poem, composed in a very controlled and chastened style, perfectly in keeping with its tragic text.

Concerts to come

Fri 10 May 2019
Salle Philharmonique, Liège

Mater dolorosa

Durée du programme

35 minutes + 45 minutes

équipe : 15 musiciens

  • Les Muffatti
  • Deux solistes

direction artistique

Les Muffatti

Contact

Les Muffatti

Adi Chesson
General Manager
+ 32 2 503 27 33
adi@lesmuffatti.be
www.lesmuffatti.be

Leonardo LEO (1694-1744), Sinfonia de Sant'Elena al Calvario
Emanuele BARBELLA (1718-1777), Concerto a quattro fugato sul stile di chiesa en ré mineur
Francesco DURANTE (1684-1755), Concerto n° 8 en la majeur "La Pazzia"
Alessandro SCARLATTI (1660-1725), Ouverture de l’Oratorio Cain Overo il primo omicidio
Giovanni Battista PERGOLESI (1710-1736), Stabat Mater en fa mineur

Au XVIIIe siècle, Naples, tout en trouvant son indépendance politique, prend un essor artistique considérable et acquiert peu à peu la primauté dans le domaine de la créativité musicale en Italie, faisant de l’ombre à des villes comme Rome et Venise.

La demande musicale et la qualité exigée dans tous les établissements napolitains, églises et théâtres, favorisent l’éclosion de véritables conservatori. Ce programme parcourt plusieurs générations de compositeurs, qui tous ont été soit professeur, soit élève dans l’un des conservatoires napolitains, parfois l’un de l’autre…

Leonardo Leo (1694-1744) est l’un des compositeurs napolitains d’oratorios et d’opéras les plus importants. Organiste à la cour, il y fait une bonne partie de sa carrière. L’oratorio Santa Elena al Calvario (1734, sur un livret de Métastase) marque l’apogée de sa carrière.

Parmi les compositeurs de ce programme, Emanuele Barbella est le moins connu aujourd’hui. Élève notamment de Leonardo Leo, il est de son vivant célèbre de Londres à Paris, où des dizaines d’œuvres sont publiées. Son langage musical est nourri d’éléments napolitains : impressionnants contrastes thématiques et dynamiques, harmonies surprenantes, multiples virages chromatiques.

Francesco Durante est peut-être le compositeur napolitain qui connaît la plus grande renommée de son vivant. Il nous reste de lui un vaste corpus d’œuvres religieuses, des duos vocaux, de la musique pour clavier ainsi que plusieurs concertos dans un style mixte, aux passages virtuoses ou poétiques.

Alessandro Scarlatti travaille à Naples durant de nombreuses années. L’ouverture en trois mouvements est typique de son écriture et c’est sans doute son influence qui fera de ce type d’ouverture à l’italienne la norme parmi la génération suivante.

C’est en 1735 que Giovanni Battista Pergolesi compose son Stabat mater, l’un des plus grands chefs-d’œuvre de l’époque baroque. Il s’agit d’une œuvre parmi les plus poignantes écrites sur ce texte du XIIIe siècle, d’un style galant très contrôlé et châtié, qui se montre en parfaite adéquation avec les paroles tragiques.

Concerts à venir

ven 10 Mai 2019
Salle Philharmonique, Liège