Liebster Jesu

Length of the programme

90 min approx.

Team : 17 musicians

  • Les Muffatti
  • Caroline Weynants (soprano), Tomáš Král (baritone)

artistic direction

Les Muffatti

Contact

Les Muffatti

Emilie Menz
General Manager
+ 32 2 503 27 33
emilie@lesmuffatti.be
www.lesmuffatti.be

Johann Sebastian BACH, Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen (BWV 32), Overture n°3 for strings (BWV 1068a)
Johann Christoph GRAUPNER, Wo willst du hin betrübte Seele (GWV 1155/09A), Concerto for oboe

Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen (BWV 32) belongs to Johann Sebastian Bach’s third cantata cycle, written in Leipzig in 1726. As was the case with many works written from the beginning of the XVIIth century, it takes the form — then very popular — of a dialogue between the voice of Christ and the human spirit. The exceptionally beautiful opening movement of the cantata could serve perfectly as the slow movement from an oboe concerto.

The work, which recounts and paraphrases the story of Jesus in the temple, is introduced by three solo episodes. It is only in the second half of the cantata that the two characters enter into a dialogue with each other. The themes of abandonment by God, and his subsequent consolation, are counterposed throughout the entire piece.

Bach had set texts by the librettist, Georg Christian Lehms, almost a dozen times previously. Lehms, who was poet and (chiefly) librarian at the court in Darmstadt, wrote a great many cantata texts for the most important composer active there, Christoph Graupner. Among the 1400 cantatas by Graupner that have survived (an absolute record) Wo willst du hin betrübte Seele (1709) would seem to be the ideal reflection of Bach’s work, both in terms of the setting, which is exactly the same, and its narrative form, also one of a dialogue between Jesus and the spirit.

Finally, an oboe concerto by Graupner and Bach’s third orchestral suite, in its seemingly original version for strings alone, form a framework for the two cantatas.

Concerts to come

Tue 31 Mar 2020
Bozar, Brussels

Liebster Jesu

Durée du programme

Environ 90 minutes

équipe : 17 musiciens

  • Les Muffatti
  • Caroline Weynants (soprano), Tomáš Král (baryton)

direction artistique

Les Muffatti

Contact

Les Muffatti

Adi Chesson
General Manager
+ 32 2 503 27 33
adi@lesmuffatti.be
www.lesmuffatti.be

Johann Sebastian BACH, Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen (BWV 32), Ouverture n° 3 pour orchestre (BWV 1068a)
Johann Christoph GRAUPNER, Wo willst du hin betrübte Seele (GWV 1155/09A), Concerto pour hautbois d’amour ou hautbois (GWV 302, 313 ou 324)

Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen BWV 32 fait partie du troisième cycle de cantates écrites par Johann Sebastian Bach à Leipzig (1726). Comme nombre d’œuvres depuis le début du XVIIe siècle, elle revêt la forme très populaire d’un dialogus entre la voix du christ et l’Âme.

Le premier air de cette cantate, véritable mouvement lent de concerto pour hautbois, est d’une beauté exceptionnelle. Le dialogue, qui reprend et paraphrase le récit de Jésus au Temple, est introduit par trois interventions solistes ; ce n’est que dans la deuxième partie de la cantate que les deux personnages se donnent la réplique. Les thèmes de l’abandon de Dieu et de sa consolation sont mis en tension tout au long de la cantate.

Les textes de Georg Christian Lehms, le librettiste, ont été utilisés près d’une dizaine de fois par Bach. Poète de cour et surtout bibliothécaire à la cour de Darmstadt, il écrivit un grand nombre de textes de cantates pour le compositeur le plus important attaché à celle-ci, Johann Christoph Graupner. Parmi les 1400 cantates de sa main que nous avons conservées (ce qui constitue un record absolu), Wo willst du hin betrübte Seele (1709) semble faire idéalement écho à celle de Bach, que ce soit en termes d’effectif, exactement le même, ou de forme narrative (ici aussi, Jésus et l’Âme sont en dialogue).

Enfin, un concerto pour hautbois de Graupner et la troisième suite pour orchestre de Bach, dans sa version probablement originale pour cordes seules, viennent offrir un écrin à ces deux cantates.